Understanding the Tarot Major Arcana

The Major Arcana, consisting of 22 cards in a standard Tarot deck, is the foundation of the Tarot's mystical and interpretive power. Each card symbolizes different aspects of human experience, from spiritual lessons to practical advice. This post delves into the meanings and messages of each Major Arcana card, providing a deeper understanding of this profound and symbolic section of the Tarot.

The Fool (0):The journey begins with The Fool, representing new beginnings, innocence, and spontaneity. It encourages us to embrace new adventures with an open heart and mind.

The Magician (I):The Magician symbolizes willpower, manifestation, and resourcefulness. This card suggests that you have the skills and abilities to achieve your goals.

The High Priestess (II):The High Priestess represents intuition, mystery, and subconscious wisdom. She invites you to look inward and trust your inner voice.

The Empress (III):The Empress embodies fertility, creativity, and nurturing. This card encourages you to connect with nature and embrace your nurturing side.

The Emperor (IV):The Emperor signifies authority, structure, and control. He represents leadership and the power of a disciplined approach.

The Hierophant (V):The Hierophant symbolizes tradition, conventional beliefs, and education. This card suggests seeking spiritual guidance or adhering to established social structures.

The Lovers (VI):The Lovers signify love, harmony, and alignment of values. This card often represents a meaningful relationship or a crucial life decision based on your values.

The Chariot (VII):The Chariot represents determination, willpower, and control. It suggests overcoming obstacles through confidence and perseverance.

Strength (VIII):Strength symbolizes courage, patience, and inner power. This card encourages embracing your inner strength to overcome life's challenges.

The Hermit (IX):The Hermit stands for introspection, solitude, and guidance. It calls you to a period of self-reflection and seeking inner wisdom.

Wheel of Fortune (X):The Wheel of Fortune represents cycles, fate, and significant changes. This card suggests that life is in constant motion, and change is inevitable.

Justice (XI):Justice symbolizes fairness, truth, and law. It advises you to consider your actions' consequences and strive for balance and fairness.

The Hanged Man (XII):The Hanged Man signifies surrender, new perspectives, and letting go. It suggests a time of pause and contemplation, seeing things from a new angle.

Death (XIII):Often misunderstood, Death represents transformation, endings, and new beginnings. It signifies the end of a chapter and the start of a new one.

Temperance (XIV):Temperance stands for balance, moderation, and patience. This card advises finding a middle ground and blending opposites harmoniously.

The Devil (XV):The Devil represents materialism, temptation, and bondage. It warns against being trapped by material desires or unhealthy attachments.

The Tower (XVI):The Tower symbolizes upheaval, sudden change, and revelation. It often indicates a major shift or a revelation that changes your perspective.

The Star (XVII):The Star signifies hope, faith, and inspiration. This card brings a sense of optimism, suggesting a bright future and spiritual insight.

The Moon (XVIII):The Moon represents illusion, intuition, and uncertainty. It suggests exploring the hidden depths of your subconscious and facing your fears.

The Sun (XIX):The Sun symbolizes success, joy, and vitality. It brings positivity and suggests a time of happiness and fulfillment.

Judgement (XX):Judgement stands for reflection, rebirth, and inner calling. This card suggests evaluating past actions and decisions, leading to personal transformation.

The World (XXI):The World represents completion, achievement, and a sense of unity. It symbolizes the successful completion of a cycle and the beginning of a new chapter.

The Major Arcana of the Tarot provides a rich narrative framework for understanding life's spiritual and practical lessons. Each card offers unique insights and guidance, helping seekers navigate their journey with wisdom and introspection. By contemplating these archetypal images and their meanings, one can gain profound insights into life's complexities and mysteries.

Ayesha Hilton

About Ayesha Hilton

Hello! I'm Ayesha (pronounced eye-sha). I am an avid card deck lover and collector. I publish my own card decks and teach other creators how to design, print, and publish their own card decks with courses and strategy sessions. I am passionate about supporting you to express your brilliance with the world!

Have fun creating!

Card Deck Creator Series

Interviews with
Card deck Creators

Read More Posts

Check out the Blog Series:
How to Create Your Own Card Deck

The future of card decks is digital!

Learn How to Design & Publish

A Deck on Deckible

Card Deck Creators Toolkit

Learn How to Design & Print

Your Card Deck with Canva and Print on Demand Printing